You are the owner of this article.
You have permission to edit this article.

IHSFCA announces All-State teams

  • 0
Du-Pec's Hunter Hoffman was named IHSFCA 3-A All-State

Plenty of local players honored by the IHSFCA.

ROCKFORD (WREX) — Plenty of high school football players from around the area received All-State honors from the Illinois High School Football Coaches Association. The IHSFCA unveiled the teams Tuesday morning.

In 6-A, Harlem's Adrian Palos was named to the All-State team. He rushed for 1,435 yards and 20 touchdowns, and he made 146 tackles with 2 sacks and an interception on defense. His high-level play on both sides of the ball helped Harlem win its first playoff game in a decade.

In 5-A, Rochelle's Garrett Gensler earned the honor. He rushed for more than 900 yards and 20 touchdowns, despite the Hubs getting two wins via forfeit. He helped lead a potent rushing attack, lifting the Hubs into the 2nd round of the playoffs. Sycamore lineman Lincoln Cooley also earned 5-A All-State recognition, with his Spartans playing in the state semifinals this weekend.

In 4-A, Colin Nesler was named All-State as he led a dominant Cogs defense all season. Nesler terrorized opposing quarterbacks and ball-carriers, helping lead the Cogs into the state quarterfinals. Marengo's Josh Holst also made the 4-A team.

In 3-A, Byron's Chandler Binkley, North Boone's Will Doetch and Du-Pec's Hunter Hoffman were named All-State. Binkley has rushed for more than 1,000 yards, while also coming up in the clutch in the Tigers' state quarterfinal win last weekend. Doetch caught 86 passes for 1,170 yards and 16 touchdowns, helping lead the Vikings to a playoff appearance with a 3-game winning streak to close out the regular season. Hoffman threw for more than 1,500 yards and 22 touchdowns, propelling the Rivermen into the 2nd round of the playoffs.

In 1-A, Forreston running back Matthew Beltran was named All-State after rushing for almost 800 yards and 13 touchdowns, leading a balanced Cardinal ground game. Lena-Winslow's Brody Mahon, Galena's Ethan Hefel and Fulton's Keegan VanKampen also made the 1-A All-State team.

Have a news tip or story idea? Email us at

Sports Director

Derek Bayne joined 13 WREX as the sports director in December of 2011. He grew up in the Chicago suburbs and moved back to Illinois after working several years in North Carolina. For any sports story ideas or tips, you can email

Recommended for you