NCAA announces March Madness field of 68 - – Rockford’s News Leader

NCAA announces March Madness field of 68

ROCKFORD (WREX) - The 2015 NCAA Men's Basketball Tournament begins on Tuesday with the First Four before the Round of 64 kicks off March Madness in earnest on Thursday. The NCAA's selection committee unveiled the field, which features familiar faces to Rockford basketball fans, a 34-0 powerhouse in search of perfection, and seven Big Ten teams.

Auburn alum Fred VanVleet and Wichita State are the Midwest Region's #7 seed and face #10 seed Indiana on Friday in Omaha. Tipoff is scheduled for approximately 1:45 PM. The Shockers took a 35-0 record to last season's Round of 32 before losing to eventual runner-up Kentucky.

Rockford native J.P. Tokoto and North Carolina are the West region's #4 seed. The Tar Heels play #13 seed and Ivy League champion Harvard on Thursday in Jacksonville at approximately 6:20 PM.

Kentucky is the tournament's #1 overall seed, taking a 34-0 record into the postseason. Joining the Wildcats on the top line are Villanova in the East and Duke in the South.

Wisconsin earned the West region's #1 seed after winning the Big Ten Tournament title on Sunday against Michigan State, 80-69 in overtime, which featured the Badgers shutting out the Spartans in the extra period. Bo Ryan's squad faces #16 seed Coastal Carolina on Friday in Omaha, with a tipoff set for approximately 8:20 PM.

The other Big Ten teams and their opponents, with dates, times, and locations, are listed below:

#9 Purdue vs #8 Cincinnati - 6:10 PM Thursday (Louisville)
#4 Maryland vs #13 Valparaiso - 3:40 PM Friday (Columbus)

#10 Ohio State vs #7 VCU - 3:40 PM Thursday (Portland)

#7 Iowa vs #10 Davidson - 6:20 PM Friday (Seattle)

#7 Michigan State vs #10 Georgia - 11:40 AM Friday (Charlotte)
Powered by Frankly