United States issues sanctions against Russia after Crimea vote - WREX.com – Rockford’s News Leader

United States issues sanctions against Russia after Crimea vote


President Barack Obama signed an executive order Monday imposing sanctions against Russian officials after Crimea's vote to secede from Ukraine.

Seven Russian government officials are named in the order. The U.S. also said the assets of other individuals who are not part of the government but are supporting them have been identified and targeted.

Four Ukrainians are facing sanctions from the U.S. Treasury Department, including former President Viktor Yanukovych and two separatist leaders based in Crimea.

The United States' announcement came shortly after the European Union announced asset freezes and travel bans on 21 people. During a speech on Monday, President Obama announced more sanctions can be expected if Russia continues to interfere in Ukraine.

Crimean residents voted overwhelmingly in favor of the split from Ukraine on Sunday.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WREX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Trista Truesdale at (815) 335-7856. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.