6 more counties declared disaster areas after Sunday's tornadoes - WREX.com – Rockford’s News Leader

6 more Illinois counties declared disaster areas after Sunday's tornadoes


Six additional counties were declared state disaster areas after a severe storm ravaged Illinois Sunday, resulting in two EF-4 tornadoes.

Douglas, Jasper, Pope, Wabash, Wayne, and Will counties joined Champaign, Grundy, LaSalle, Massac, Tazewell, Washington, and Woodford counties in being declared a disaster area. That declaration opens up state resources to help with recovery efforts. Those resources include trucks, heavy equipment to remove debris, communications equipment, and help with security and other issues of public safety.

If you would like to help out, a cash donation to volunteer disaster response agencies like the Salvation Army or the Red Cross is the best way. To volunteer in person, do not visit the disaster scene, contact a reputable volunteer agency instead. Unexpected volunteers could impede recovery efforts. Information on volunteering in specific areas is below:

  • Gifford (Champaign County) - American Red Cross Central Illinois Chapter, 217-351-5861
  • Coal City (Grundy County) - Coal City High School, Mr. Rich Kapinus, 815-207-0926
  • Washington County is not in need of volunteers or donations at this time
  • City of Washington (Tazewell County) - 309-573-4035

For more information, visit ready.illinois.gov.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WREX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Trista Truesdale at (815) 335-7856. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.