Winnebago County Health Department announces essay winners - – Rockford’s News Leader

Winnebago County Health Department announces essay winners


The Violence Prevention Collaborative of the Winnebago County Health Department will host it's Seventh Annual Essay, Poetry and Art Contest awards luncheon.  The winners of the contest have been announced.  They had to answer the question, "How do you show empathy for other people?"

The student winners are:

Emily Licon, 5th grade, Montessori Academy at Marshall- Poetry

Ashlyn Horton, 7th grade, Thurgood Marshall- Poetry

Jodi Weyl, 11th grade, Jefferson HS- Poetry


Juel Campos Watkins, 1st grade, Johnson Elementary- Art

Miracle Toney, 7th grade, Thurgood Marshall- Art

Brittany Manuell, 12th grade, Jefferson HS- Art


Juliana Mace, 5th grade, West View Elementary- Essay

Hailee Jones, 7th grade, Kennedy Middle School- Essay

Celeste Ramirez, 10th grade, Jefferson HS- Essay


This year, Dr. LaMar Hasbrouck, MD, MPH, the director of the Illinois Department of Public Health will be the guest speaker for the luncheon on May 23, 2013 at 11:30 a.m.  It takes place at the Riverview Ice House.

For the past six years the VPC has given youth an opportunity to voice their opinion on a violence-related topic.  The winning essays, poems and art will be on display at various places throughout the year, including the Winnebago County Health Department.

For more information, to make reservations for the May 23 luncheon or to express interest in displaying the winning entries at your organization or business, please contact Karen Lytwyn at 815-720-4261 or 815-703-2437 or you can email her at

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WREX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Trista Truesdale at (815) 335-7856. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at