Rockford Public Schools hosts Those Who Excel awards - – Rockford’s News Leader

Rockford Public Schools hosts Those Who Excel awards


Five employees, one volunteer, and one program were honored by Rockford Public Schools at the 29th annual Those Who Excel Awards.

Winners were chosen by RPS employees and community members and nominees can advance to the statewide awards this fall, which are sponsored by the State Board of Education.

The following winners were honored during an event Thursday night:

  • Classroom Teacher: Katherine Rasmus, Marsh Elementary School
  • Administrator/principal: Janice Hawkins, Guilford High School
  • Student support personnel (certified): Karin Trost, Rolling Green Elementary
  • Educational service personnel (non-certified): Lisa Jones, paraprofessional, Marsh Elementary School
  • School Board member/community volunteer: Dave Morgan, Eisenhower Middle School
  • Team: Surgeons of Steel, Eisenhower Middle School (exposes students to modern manufacturing)

The awards were a partnership between the Rockford Education Association and RPS.


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WREX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Trista Truesdale at (815) 335-7856. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at