Toews Named Selke Trophy Finalist - – Rockford’s News Leader

Toews Named Selke Trophy Finalist

The National Hockey League announced today the finalists for the 2013 Frank J. Selke Trophy, given annually to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game, naming Blackhawks center Jonathan Toews as one of three players up for the award. Patrice Bergeron (Boston Bruins) and Pavel Datsyuk (Detroit Red Wings) were also named finalists.
Toews, 25, ranked second on the Blackhawks with 48 points (23G, 25A) and ranked third in the NHL with a career-high plus-28 rating in 47 regular-season games. The Winnipeg, Manitoba, native also shared the league lead with 56 takeaways and ranked second in the NHL with a Western Conference-best 59.9 faceoff percentage.
The 6-2, 208-pound center was also a finalist for the award following the 2010-11 campaign after finishing the season second in the NHL with 93 takeaways and tied for 15th with a plus-25 rating. He finished second in voting that year.
The Frank J. Selke Trophy was first awarded at the end of the 1977-78 season and previous Blackhawks to win the award include Troy Murray (1986) and Dirk Graham (1991).
The winner of the 2013 Frank J. Selke Trophy will be announced during the Stanley Cup Final. The award is selected by a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WREX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Trista Truesdale at (815) 335-7856. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at