Blackhawks Clinch Presidents' Trophy - – Rockford’s News Leader

Blackhawks Clinch Presidents' Trophy

The Chicago Blackhawks have clinched the 2013 Presidents' Trophy, given annually to the National Hockey League team that accumulates the most points during the regular season. This marks the second Presidents' Trophy (created for the 1985-86 season) in Blackhawks history (1990-91) and the fourth time overall that the team has finished atop the NHL standings (1966-67, 1969-70, 1990-91).
The Blackhawks previously clinched the Central Division Championship and the top seed in the Western Conference, and are now ensured home-ice advantage throughout the 2013 Stanley Cup playoffs. Chicago currently owns a league-high 75 points, is tied for the league lead with 35 wins (35-6-5) and is the only team in the NHL without double-digit regulation losses this season.
The 2013 Stanley Cup playoffs begin on Tuesday, April 30. A complete first-round schedule will be released at the conclusion of the regular season.
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WREX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Trista Truesdale at (815) 335-7856. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at