Winnebago County declared disaster area by Governor Quinn - – Rockford’s News Leader

Winnebago County declared disaster area by Governor Quinn


Recent rains have left much of Illinois underwater, leading Governor Pat Quinn to declare 38 counties as state disaster areas.

Included in those counties are DeKalb, Jo Daviess, Whiteside, and Winnebago. By declaring them disaster areas, Governor Quinn opens those counties to accelerated and expanded access to state emergency resources and allow Illinois to pursue federal support and relief.

"Illinois has seen an incredible level of devastation and reports indicate that conditions will get worse in the coming days," Governor Quinn said. "We want to ensure that every county gets the assistance they need and this declaration will give every affected community access to available resources. As we wait for the floods to pass, all Illinois residents should continue to take precautions, and stay off the roads if possible."

For safety information and real-time updates, visit

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WREX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Trista Truesdale at (815) 335-7856. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at