RPS205 board member election wrap up - WREX.com – Rockford’s News Leader

RPS205 board member election wrap up


In Rockford Public Schools district 205, every seat on the district's school board was up for grabs.  However, there were some seats that will remain the same as the previous term.

Board member Tim Rollins represents sub district B.  He ran unopposed this year.  As did sub district D board member Jude Makulec.  Both have been on the board since the last term.

Another current board member is Ken Scrivano.  While no name appeared as his opposition, a write-in slot did.  That slot represented former RPS205 educator, Alice Saudargas.  She was found, through a hearing process, to not have the required signatures on her petition to run, removing her from the ballot. 

Scrivano beat out that write-in slot to retain his seat.

Other current board members challenged for their seats included Lisa Jackson, running against Dion Simpson in sub district A and Laura Powers, running against Jaime Escobedo in sub district G.

Both Jackson and Powers will still be on the board after winning their respected races.

Two board members that did not run for re-election are sub district E board member Ronnell Moore and the current board president and representative of sub district F, Harmon Mitchell.

Running in the races to replace those was in sub district E, Michael D. Harner who edged out Kim Mullins to take the seat.  In sub district F it was a three-way race between Jeffrey A. Holt Jr., Michael Connor and Juan Reyes.

Connor took the votes and will fill the seat in district E.

Now, with two new board members comes a whole new administrative team in district 205.  Current Assistant Superintendent Dr. Ehren Jarrett will take over for Interim Superintendent Dr. Robert Willis in July.  Jarrett at previous board meetings has announced the assembling of his leadership team which also puts Matt Vosberg, another assistant superintendent, in the Deputy Superintendent's seat.

Jarrett says he's excited to build relationships with both new and current board members and working together for the better of RPS205.

"We're really excited that democracy worked today and we're going to have a new board in place and I'm certainly looking forward to working with the board members and certainly wish any of the outgoing candidates well.  It was a wonderful slate of candidates and I'm glad to see that the process is complete," Jarrett.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WREX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Trista Truesdale at (815) 335-7856. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.