Boys 1-A/2-A All-State Teams Announced - – Rockford’s News Leader

Boys 1-A/2-A All-State Teams Announced


Winnebago's Matt Reinke was named to the 2-A All-State 1st team. Dakota's Brett Benning was named to the 1-A All-State 2nd team, along with Dalton Shaner of Eastland. Here is a complete list of the honorees:


A total of 26 votes were cast. None of those selected earned unanimous approval or were named on each ballot. First-place votes worth 5 points; second-place votes worth 3 points. At least two votes were required for honorable mention. Five others received one second-team vote.


Name, School (Ht., Yr., Pos.) Pts.

Andrew Drone, Gallatin County (6-11, Sr., C) 107

Marquis Bourney, Madison (6-2, Sr., G) 98

Brett Anderson, Newark (6-4, Sr., F) 93

Jared Entwistle, Illini Central (5-11, Sr., G) 92

Jeremy Weeke, Okawville (6-4, Sr., G/F) 64


Jacob Johnston, Erie (6-4, Sr., F) 50

Devantae Price, Tamms Egyptian (6-1, Sr., G) 47

Gabe Owens, Woodland (6-5, Sr., G) 44

Brett Benning, Dakota (6-5, Jr., G/F) 44

Dalton Shaner, Lanark Eastland (6-1, Jr., G) 43

HONORABLE MENTION (in voting order):

Cody Hildebrand, Payson-Seymour (6-0, Jr., G) 42

Anthony Johnson, Oblong (6-3, Sr., G) 37

Joshua Jones, Mounds Meridian (6-5, Sr., F) 31

Trevor Lay, Kewanee Wethersfield (5-11, Jr., G) 30

Devon Wright, Nokomis (6-1, Sr., F) 28

Cole Hasselbring, Cissna Park (6-4, Sr., F) 24

Matt Saari, South Beloit (5-10, Sr., G) 23

Michael Houran, Decatur Christian (Sr., C) 20

Jordan Tharp, Cullom Tri-Point (6-3, Sr., G) 13

Dalton Hinterscher, Dietrich (5-11, Sr., G) 12

Aiden Chang, Freeport Aquin (6-1, Soph., G) 11

Zeke Snell, Goreville (6-4, Jr., F) 8

Jordan Bradshaw, Illini Central (6-0, Sr., G/F) 8

Connor Gross, Bement (6-0, Jr., G) 6

Wes Degener, Waterloo Gibault (6-3, Jr., G/F) 6

Octavius Davis, St. Anne (6-3, Jr., F) 6

Max Stutsman, Salt Fork (6-4, Jr., C) 6

Josh Newslander, Chicagoland Jewish (Soph.) 6

John Taylor, Broadlands Heritage (6-5, Sr., F) 5

Dexter Ingels, Galva (5-11, Jr., G) 6

Derek Burchett, Waverly (5-9, Sr., G) 6

Darin Winkelman, Steelville (6-6, Sr., G) 6


A total of 25 votes were cast. None of those selected earned unanimous approval, though Rockridge's Ethan Happ was named on every ballot. First-place votes worth 5 points; second-place votes worth 3 points. At least two votes were required for honorable mention. Seven others received one second-team vote.


Name, School (Ht., Yr., Pos.) Total

Ethan Happ, Rockridge (6-7, Jr., F) 123

Tyler Smithpeters, Harrisburg (6-4, Sr., G) 106

Mark Weems, Chicago Seton (6-2, Sr., G) 87

Alex Foster, Chicago Seton (6-8, Sr., F) 87

Matt Reinke, Winnebago (6-4, Sr., G) 72


Martel Hunter, Monmouth-Roseville (6-1, Jr., G) 62

Paxton Harmon, West Hancock (6-4, Sr., G) 34

Shaquon Alexander, Chicago Hales Franciscan (6-2, Sr., G) 33

Capel Henshaw, Harrisburg (6-3, Sr., G) 33

Tevin King, Providence St. Mel (6-1, Jr., G) 32

HONORABLE MENTION (in voting order):

Brady Sanders, Fieldcrest (6-1, Sr., G) 30

Hunter Reine, Roxana (6-9, Sr., C) 28

Langdon Neal, Chicago Francis Parker (6-1, Sr., G) 25

Jacoby Posley, Winnebago (6-0, Sr., G) 22

Michael Cameron, Pleasant Plains (5-10, Sr., PG) 21

Khalil Small, Providence St. Mel (6-2, Sr., G) 21

Kamal Shasi, Chicago Seton (6-1, Sr., G) 18

Aaron Rushing, Sparta (6-8, Sr., C) 18

Brent Schluter, St. Joseph-Ogden (6-3, Jr., F) 15

Caleb Mowry, Oregon (6-5, Sr., C) 14

Derek Smith, Teutopolis (6-3, Sr., G) 12

Aaron Siler, Robinson (5-11, Sr., G) 11

Michael Hoekstra, Kankakee Bishop McNamara (6-7, Sr., C) 10

Brody Gronewold, Carthage Illini West (6-0, Sr., G) 9

Dalton Payton, Byron (6-4, Sr., G) 8

Will Schneider, Riverton (6-0, Sr., G) 6

Royce Newman, Nashville (6-6, Fr., C) 6

Jared Richmond, Riverdale (5-9, Sr., G) 6

Donovan Oliver, Kewanee (6-3, Fr., F) 6

Brandon Wolfe, Casey-Westfield (Jr.) 6

Bodee Schlipf, El Paso-Gridley (6-4, Sr., F) 6

Allen Potts, Chicago Tilden (6-3, Sr., F) 6

A.J. Sharp, Sterling Newman (5-9, Jr., G) 6

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WREX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Trista Truesdale at (815) 335-7856. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at