Rockford and Winn. Co. get grants for emergency radios - – Rockford’s News Leader

Rockford and Winn. Co. get grants for emergency radios


Forty-one local emergency management agencies across the state will share over $416,000 to become compliant with federal narrowband requirements.

The grants were awarded by the Illinois Terrorism Task Force, which used federal homeland security funds from the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. VHF and UHF public safety base station/repeater radios and mobile radios that are not narrowband compliant will be replaced by narrowband equipment with the funds.

All public safety licensees that are not federal have to move to narrowband 12.5 kHz channels by the end of the year in an effort to relieve congestion and increase the availability of channels.

The following local counties and municipalities received grant money:

  • Jo Daviess County - $11,882.50
  • Stephenson County - $734.26
  • Winnebago County - $17,495.50
  • Rockford - $70,941.00
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and WREX. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Trista Truesdale at (815) 335-7856. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at